WBIW.com News - state

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Legislators Revamp Criminal Code

Last updated on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Legislators are in the early stages of a possible revamp of Indiana’s criminal code. Indiana law creates five categories of felonies: class A, B, C and D, with murder in a class by itself.

Former Federal Prosecutor Deborah Daniels says that sometimes makes it hard for judges to hand down sentences that fit the crime - for drug crimes in particular, a tiny change in the amount of drugs sold can catapult a case from a potential sentence of six-to-20 years to a possible 20-to-50.

Daniels is part of a working group of seven attorneys discussing how to expand five categories into seven.

Murder and low-level felonies would probably remain the same, but the panel envisions turning class A and B into levels 1 through 4. Daniels says the group hasn't discussed what the sentencing ranges would be for each level, focusing instead on where to slot each of the dozens of crimes now on the books.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page