News Sections
Legislators Revamp Criminal Code
Updated May 5, 2013 12:09 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Legislators are in the early stages of a possible revamp of Indiana's criminal code. Indiana law creates five categories of felonies: class A, B, C and D, with murder in a class by itself.

Former Federal Prosecutor Deborah Daniels says that sometimes makes it hard for judges to hand down sentences that fit the crime - for drug crimes in particular, a tiny change in the amount of drugs sold can catapult a case from a potential sentence of six-to-20 years to a possible 20-to-50.

Daniels is part of a working group of seven attorneys discussing how to expand five categories into seven.

Murder and low-level felonies would probably remain the same, but the panel envisions turning class A and B into levels 1 through 4. Daniels says the group hasn't discussed what the sentencing ranges would be for each level, focusing instead on where to slot each of the dozens of crimes now on the books.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File