WBIW.com News - state

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Department Of Revenue Release Income Tax Rates

Last updated on Friday, October 2, 2009

(UNDATED) - The Indiana Department of Revenue has released a preliminary list of new income tax rates for all 92 counties, but only eight have adopted county income tax rate changes so far.

Those with new rates are Carroll, Grant, Hancock, Lawrence, Monroe, Parke, St. Joseph and Wabash.

Bartholomew and Posey Counties have adopted a new County Economic Development income tax.

The tax rates are effective as of October first. But this year, state law allows counties to adopt new rates until October 30.

New tax rates adopted by counties in October will have staggered effective dates.

Those adopted by mid-October will become effective November first.

After mid-October, the new rates will kick in on December first.

Stephanie McFarland with the Indiana Department of Revenue says the list is important for businesses, since they must adjust their employees' tax withholding in counties where rates have changed.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page