WBIW.com News - state

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Nearby Counties On List For Farm Assistance

Last updated on Wednesday, October 15, 2008

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Farmers in 20 Indiana counties now are eligible for low-interest emergency farm loans from the federal farm service agency because of severe storms from remnants of Hurricane Ike last month.

The Indiana State Department of Agriculture says President Bush has given primary disaster designations to six counties: Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Laporte, Lake and Porter.

Fourteen counties received contiguous disaster designations: Bartholomew, Clark, Crawford, Decatur, Floyd, Jackson, Jasper, Newton, Ripley, St. Joseph, Scott, Starke, Switzerland and Washington.

Farmers in the 20 counties may contact their local farm service agency office for further information on emergency loans.

The agency weighs factors such as losses, available security and ability to repay.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page