News Sections
Nearby Counties On List For Farm Assistance
Updated May 5, 2013 12:06 AM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Farmers in 20 Indiana counties now are eligible for low-interest emergency farm loans from the federal farm service agency because of severe storms from remnants of Hurricane Ike last month.

The Indiana State Department of Agriculture says President Bush has given primary disaster designations to six counties: Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Laporte, Lake and Porter.

Fourteen counties received contiguous disaster designations: Bartholomew, Clark, Crawford, Decatur, Floyd, Jackson, Jasper, Newton, Ripley, St. Joseph, Scott, Starke, Switzerland and Washington.

Farmers in the 20 counties may contact their local farm service agency office for further information on emergency loans.

The agency weighs factors such as losses, available security and ability to repay.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File