WBIW.com News - state

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Governor Tours Flood Areas

Last updated on Monday, June 9, 2008

(UNDATED) - Governor Mitch Daniels has added 13 more counties to the emergency disaster declaration he signed on Saturday because of flooding that has destroyed or caused severe damage to homes, business and structures because of heavy rains and flooding.

The governor signed an executive order to add bartholomew, Daviess, Decatur, Franklin, Henry, Jackson, Jennings, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Sullivan, Union and Wayne to the disaster declaration.

On Saturday, the governor declared a disaster for Brown, Clay, Greene, Johnson, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Shelby, Vermillion and Vigo counties.

After viewing the severity of damage and the widespread area it covers, Daniels said he is completely convinced the state will qualify for federal disaster assistance and he will seek expedited federal relief to get help to Hoosiers. The state will complete a separate assessment of the impact to agriculture property.

Indiana National Guard members were being sent to Southern Indiana areas, such as Owen, Greene, Daviess, Pike, Gibson, Posey, Vanderburgh and Knox counties, to begin sandbagging in advance of water moving downstream. More than 800 national guardsmen are assisting with security, sandbagging reconnaissance, search and rescue, and other duties.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page