News Sections
Governor Tours Flood Areas
Updated May 5, 2013 12:05 AM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - Governor Mitch Daniels has added 13 more counties to the emergency disaster declaration he signed on Saturday because of flooding that has destroyed or caused severe damage to homes, business and structures because of heavy rains and flooding.

The governor signed an executive order to add bartholomew, Daviess, Decatur, Franklin, Henry, Jackson, Jennings, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Sullivan, Union and Wayne to the disaster declaration.

On Saturday, the governor declared a disaster for Brown, Clay, Greene, Johnson, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Shelby, Vermillion and Vigo counties.

After viewing the severity of damage and the widespread area it covers, Daniels said he is completely convinced the state will qualify for federal disaster assistance and he will seek expedited federal relief to get help to Hoosiers. The state will complete a separate assessment of the impact to agriculture property.

Indiana National Guard members were being sent to Southern Indiana areas, such as Owen, Greene, Daviess, Pike, Gibson, Posey, Vanderburgh and Knox counties, to begin sandbagging in advance of water moving downstream. More than 800 national guardsmen are assisting with security, sandbagging reconnaissance, search and rescue, and other duties.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File