News Sections
Deer Reduction To Occur Across State
Updated May 5, 2013 12:04 AM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - A total of 19 Department of Natural Resources properties, 18 state parks and one nature preserve, will temporarily close to the general public, Monday, November 26- 27, and December 10-11, for special deer reduction efforts.

These include Chain O'Lakes, Charlestown, Clifty Falls, Fort Harrison, Harmonie, Indiana Dunes, Lincoln, McCormick's Creek, Ouabache, Pokagon, Potato Creek, Shades, Shakamak, Spring Mill, Tippecanoe River, Turkey Run, Versailles and Whitewater Memorial State Parks, plus Twin Swamps Nature Preserve.

The DNR first began to reduce the size of the deer herds occupying Indiana's state parks in 1993, with a one-day reduction at Brown County State Park. Since then, deer reductions have been conducted at 20 of Indiana's 24 state parks.

DNR biologists and naturalists now determine the need for a reduction each year on a park-by-park basis.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File