WBIW.com News - state

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

12 Counties Receiving Funds From FEMA

Last updated on Tuesday, April 3, 2007

(UNDATED) - A dozen more Indiana counties are joining the list of those eligible for emergency funds from FEMA following February’s severe snowstorm.

Adams, Allen, Dekalb, Hancock, Hendricks, Howard, Huntington, Lagrange, Laporte, Stark, St. Joseph, and Whitley counties were added after federal and state officials reviewed data supplied by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The group joins 34 other Indiana counties that qualify to apply for reimbursement of emergency expenses.

Spokesperson Sam Ventura says eligible counties had record or near record snowfalls during the storm. The additional aid, requested by Governor Daniels, was an amendment to President Bush's original March 12th snow emergency declaration.

FEMA will provide reimbursement to state and local government agencies for 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page