News Sections
Will Power Wins 102nd Indianapolis 500
Updated May 28, 2018 7:14 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS, IN) - Will Power earned his place in history as he won the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500.

The 37-year old Australian reaped the benefit of Stefan Wilson and Jack Harvey have to pit for fuel as he surged to victory, giving owner Roger Penske his record 17th Indy 500 win.

"I feel like collapsing," Power said. "I want to cry...I was wondering if I would ever win it. My career, I've had so many wins, so many poles...that everybody always talks about the 500."

Power led 59 laps and beat out pole-sitter and second-place finisher Ed Carpenter by 3.1589 seconds. After Carpenter it was Scott Dixon, Alexander Rossi and Ryan Hunter-Reay to round out the top five.

Last year's winner, Takuma Sato lasted just 46 laps before colliding with James Davison while Danica Patrick, in the final race of her career, saw her day end after 65 laps.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File