News Sections
Hoosiers Win 2014 Big Teen Baseball Tournament Championship
Updated May 27, 2014 6:55 AM | Filed under: NCAA
 Print    Archive    RSS

(OMAHA, Neb.) - In front of the largest single-game conference tournament crowd in NCAA history, Big Ten Tournament Most Outstanding Player Kyle Schwarber hit his second home run of the tournament to pace Indiana in its 8-4 victory over No. 2 Nebraska in the championship game on Sunday at TD Ameritrade Park.

It marks the fourth tournament title for the top-seeded Hoosiers and second straight, becoming the first conference team to win back-to-back tournaments since Ohio State in 2002 and 2003.

Sunday's attendance of 19,965 ranks as the largest single-game conference tournament attendance in NCAA history, and brings the five-day total to a Big Ten Tournament record 62,020. Four days of the tournament featured attendance of more than 10,000, including Wednesday (10,400) Thursday (11,756) and Saturday (12,319). The previous NCAA record for conference tournament attendance was established by Florida State and North Carolina in 2005 with a crowd of 17,860.

Indiana scored twice in the first and once in the second to take a 3-0 advantage. Nebraska responded with three runs to even in the score in the top of the fifth, but Schwarber hit his second home run of the tournament to give the Hoosiers a 4-3 lead, which it would not relinquish. Schwarber and Dustin DeMuth each had two RBI in the game, while Will Nolden scored three times for the Hoosier offense. Jake Kelzer earned his second save of the season, pitching 2.2 scoreless innings of relief to clinch the title.

The conference also announced its All-Tournament team following the conclusion of the championship game, which can be found below.

2014 Big Ten All-Tournament Team

  • P - Christian Morris, Indiana
  • P - Aaron Bummer, Nebraska
  • P - Kyle Kubat, Nebraska
  • C - Joel Fisher, Michigan State
  • 1B - Dan Olinger, Minnesota
  • 2B - Casey Rodrigue, Indiana
  • 2B - Pat Kelly, Nebraska
  • SS - Travis Maezes, Michigan
  • 3B - Dustin DeMuth, Indiana
  • DH - Scott Donley, Indiana
  • OF - Kyle Schwarber, Indiana
  • OF - Cam Gibson, Michigan State
  • OF - Ryan Boldt, Nebraska

Most Outstanding Player: Kyle Schwarber, Indiana

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File