WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Kanaan Receives $2.3M In Winnings

Last updated on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The winner of the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500 took home a big chunk of change at the 500 Victory Banquet Monday night.

Tony Kanaan and his team, KV Racing Technology, won over $2.3 million dollars for winning the Greatest Spectacle in Racing. The money comes from an overall purse of over $12-million dollars.

"This place chooses who is going to win and I'm so glad she chose me," Kanaan said after accepting his check.

Carlos Munoz, the highest finishing rookie in this year's race, was named the Chase Rookie of the Year. Munoz, the current championship points leader in the Firestone Indy Lights Series, took home $964,205 dollars, including a $25,000 dollar bonus from Chase.

The reigning champion of the IZOD IndyCar Series Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay earned $583,055 dollars for his third place finish. His Andretti Autosport teammate Marco Andretti, who took over the points standings in the series with his fourth place finish, won $469,755 dollars. Justin Wilson, who earned a career-best fifth place finish on Sunday, took home $337,805 dollars.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page