News Sections
Kanaan Receives $2.3M In Winnings
Updated May 28, 2013 7:24 AM | Filed under: IRL
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The winner of the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500 took home a big chunk of change at the 500 Victory Banquet Monday night.

Tony Kanaan and his team, KV Racing Technology, won over $2.3 million dollars for winning the Greatest Spectacle in Racing. The money comes from an overall purse of over $12-million dollars.

"This place chooses who is going to win and I'm so glad she chose me," Kanaan said after accepting his check.

Carlos Munoz, the highest finishing rookie in this year's race, was named the Chase Rookie of the Year. Munoz, the current championship points leader in the Firestone Indy Lights Series, took home $964,205 dollars, including a $25,000 dollar bonus from Chase.

The reigning champion of the IZOD IndyCar Series Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay earned $583,055 dollars for his third place finish. His Andretti Autosport teammate Marco Andretti, who took over the points standings in the series with his fourth place finish, won $469,755 dollars. Justin Wilson, who earned a career-best fifth place finish on Sunday, took home $337,805 dollars.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File