WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Carpenter Wins Indy Pole

Last updated on Sunday, May 19, 2013

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Indianapolis native Ed Carpenter is the pole sitter for this year’s Indianapolis 500.

Carpenter won the pole after getting through a rain-delayed first segment of qualifying, then posting a four-lap average speed of 228.762 miles per hour during the Fast Nine Shootout. Carpenter beat out all three drivers from Team Penske and all five drivers from Andretti Autosport in the Fast Nine.

Carpenter says, despite this accomplishment, he wants to make sure his team stays focused. He says he doesn't want the team to forget the ultimate goal of winning next Sunday's race. However, Carpenter calls the accomplishment a great start to the month.

He'll be joined on the front row next Sunday by rookie Carlos Munoz and Marco Andretti. EJ Viso, rookie AJ Allmendinger and Will Power will start in row two.

Last year's IZOD IndyCar Series Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves and James Hinchcliffe will start in row three.

The first 24 spots on the grid have been finalized. The remaining nine spots will be filled on Bump Day Sunday.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page