News Sections
Several Hoosiers Honored With Individual Awards
Updated May 5, 2013 12:01 AM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(Chicago, IL) - The Indiana Hoosiers are Big-Ten Conference champions for the first time in 20 years, leading to several players receiving individual recognition by the Big-Ten for the team's impressive season.

Victor Oladipo was voted a first team all Big Ten selection and was named Big Ten defensive player of the year.

Oladipo averaged nearly 14 points and six rebounds a game and was a consistent play making threat on both offense and defense.

Cody Zeller was also named to the conference first team, averaging nearly 17 points and eight-rebounds a game.

The Hoosiers' Christian Watford was voted third-team all-Big Ten and Will Sheehey earned the sixth man of the year award for the conference.

Yogi Ferrell joins A.J. Hammons of the Purdue Boilermakers as members of the five-player all freshman team.

Terone Johnson was named third-team all-Big Ten for averaging 13.5 points per-game and nearly five rebounds for the Boilermakers.

Michigan's Trey Burke was named the Big Ten player of the year and former Indiana Mr. Basketball, Gary Harris, was named conference freshman of the year.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File