News Sections
Hoosiers Win The Big Ten Conference Title Outright
Updated May 5, 2013 12:01 AM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(Ann Arbor, MI) - The Indiana Hoosiers won the Big-Ten Championship outright for the first time in 20 years after beating the Michigan Wolverines, 72-71 at Crisler Center in Ann Arbor.

Cody Zeller closed out the last 41 seconds of the game by scoring six points for Indiana, including a go-ahead layup with 14 seconds left to give the Hoosiers a one point lead.

Jordon Morgan missed a routine tip-in during the closing seconds that would have given the Wolverines the victory and their second straight conference co-championship.

Zeller had 25 points and 10 rebounds and Victor Oladipo added 14 points and 13 rebounds for the Hoosiers.

Indiana finish their conference schedule with a 14-4 record, 26-5 overall, and are the top seed heading into this week's Big Ten Conference Tournament at United Center in Chicago.

The top four seeds receive a bye into the quarterfinals, landing the Hoosiers in a Friday matchup against the winner of Illinois and Minnesota.

The Purdue Boilermakers also begin the conference tournament on Thursday against Nebraska as the seventh seed.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File