WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Starting Lineup Set For The Daytona 500

Last updated on Friday, February 22, 2013

(Daytona, FL) - The 43-car starting grid for the Daytona 500 is set after Thursday’s pair of qualifying races at Daytona International Speedway.

Kevin Harvick will start on the inside of the second row after winning the first of two 150 mile Budweiser Shootouts, and Kyle Busch will start next to Harvick after winning the second qualifying race of the afternoon.

The elaborate qualifying process for the season opening race at Daytona also included time trials last Sunday to fill-out the first two positions on the starting grid.

Danica Patrick became the first female driver to capture pole position for a NASCAR top flight race with a speed of 196.434 miles per hour.

She'll be joined on the front row by former Pittsboro, Indiana resident, Jeff Gordon, who had the second best speed during qualifying last Sunday.

Tony Stewart, a Columbus, Indiana native and 2011 Sprint Cup Champion, will be joined by Mark Martin on row seven.

Last season's overall points winner, Brad Keselowski, will start on the inside of row eight. Dale Earnhardt Junior qualified on the inside of row ten, and Ryan Newman, native of South Bend, Indiana, is on the outside of row 17.

Green flag racing at the two and a half mile tri-oval begins at 1:00 Sunday.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page