WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Notre Dame's Kelly Named Coach Of The Year

Last updated on Thursday, December 6, 2012

(South Bend, IN) - Notre Dame Head Football Coach Brian Kelly was named Coach of the Year after leading the 12-0 Fighting Irish to the BCS Championship game.

Kelly also won the award in 2009 with Cincinnati after the Bearcats finished the regular season undefeated en route to a Sugar Bowl appearance.

Tyler Eifert was named the winner of the John Mackey Award in recognition of the nation's best tight end.

Heisman finalist Manti Te'o was named the recipient of the Lombardi Award, an honor credited to the nation's best lineman or linebacker.

Te'o had 103 tackles and seven interceptions for Notre Dame, who will play the Alabama Crimson Tide for the national title on January 7th.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page