WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Johnson Wins For Fourth Time At The Brickyard

Last updated on Monday, July 30, 2012

(Indianapolis, IN) - Jimmie Johnson picked up his fourth NASCAR Sprint Cup win at Indianapolis, taking the Crown Royal - Curtiss Shaver 400.

Johnson was dominant, leading a race-high 99 laps. Kyle Busch finished second, more than four-point-seven seconds behind Johnson.

The margin of victory was the largest in the 19-year history of the race.

Greg Biffle, Dale Earnhardt Junior and Jeff Gordon round out the top five.

Among other drivers with Indiana ties, Ryan Newman finished seventh, Tony Stewart was tenth and David Stremme came in 24th.

Johnson ties Gordon with four Sprint Cup wins at the Brickyard.

Matt Kenseth entered Sunday's race as the Sprint Cup points leader, but wound up finishing 35th after crashing with Joey Logano.

Earnhardt takes over the points lead by 14 over Kenseth.

The top ten in points solidified as Clint Bowyer in tenth place holds a 55-point lead on eleventh place Kyle Busch.

Kasey Kahne, with his two wins this season, currently hangs onto the first wild card berth for the Chase for the Sprint Cup with Kyle Busch currently holding the second wild card.

Six races remain before the Chase when the top ten in points and the two wild cards will compete over the final ten races for the Sprint Cup championship.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page