News Sections
BCS Approves 4 Team Playoff
Updated May 5, 2013 12:01 AM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(Washington, DC) - The BCS has approved a four-team playoff to determine college football's national champion beginning in 2014.

Notre Dame Athletic Director Jack Swarbrick presented the proposal from the University and the eleven conference commissioners to a board of twelve university presidents who make up the presidential oversight committee.

That proposal has the four finalists being chosen by a selection committee and playing the semifinals at current bowl sites. The national championship game will be awarded to the highest bidder.

The semifinal games will be played on either New Year's Eve or New Year's Day with the championship game being played on the first Monday of the new year six or more days following the semifinals.

The presidents committee announced the creation of a selection committee that will rank the teams to determine the playoff participants. Among the criteria the selection committee will use to determine playoff participants are win-loss record, strength of schedule, head-to-head results and whether or not a team is a conference champion.

The agreement runs through the 2025 season.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File