WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Keselowski Wins At Talladega Superspeedway

Last updated on Monday, May 7, 2012

(TALLADEGA, AL) - Brad Keselowski picked up his second NASCAR Sprint Cup win of the season, using a push from Kyle Busch to take the Aaron’s 499 at Talladega Superspeedway.

A nine-car accident with four laps remaining necessitated a green-white-checkered finish. Matt Kenseth led at the restart but Keselowski powered past and then held off Busch at the end to get the win.

Kenseth finished third with Kasey Kahne and Greg Biffle rounding out the top five. Biffle maintains the Sprint Cup points lead, holding a seven-point advantage on Kenseth.

It was not a good day for the Indiana contingent. Tony Stewart was involved in the Lap-186 accident that forced overtime and finished 24th. Pole-winner Jeff Gordon was taken out in a nine-car wreck on Lap 144 and finished 33rd. Ryan Newman, Tony Raines and David Stremme were early outs due to mechanical failures. Newman finished 36th, Raines was 38th and Stemme was 39th.

Next up for the Sprint Cup Series is a race this Saturday night at Darlington Raceway.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page