WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Former Players Elected To College Football Hall Of Fame

Last updated on Wednesday, May 16, 2012

(UNDATED) - Former Notre Dame tight end Dave Casper and former Purdue running back Otis Armstrong are among 14 players elected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Casper becomes the 44th member of the Fighting Irish to be selected to the Hall of Fame. He was a co-captain on Notre Dame's 1973 national championship team and also spent eleven seasons in the NFL, being inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2002.

Armstrong becomes the sixth Boilermaker to reach the College Hall of Fame. His 3,315 career rushing yards was the Big Ten record at the time of his graduation in 1972.

Armstrong spent eight seasons in the NFL, all with the Denver Broncos.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page