WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Cash Prizes Awarded To Indy 500 Participants

Last updated on Tuesday, May 29, 2012

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Dario Franchitti earned nearly two and-a-half million dollars for his win in Sunday’s Indianapolis 500.

Franchitti and his Target-Chip Ganassi Racing teammates took home a check for 2,474,280 dollars from Monday night's Victory Banquet at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Franchitti's teammate Scott Dixon, who finished second, received a check for 1.1 million dollars. The total purse for the 96th Running of the '500' was just under 13.3 million dollars.

Rubens Barrichello was named Rookie of the Year following his eleventh-place finish in Sunday's '500'. For the 19-year Formula-One veteran, Sunday's race was his first on an oval. He was the highest finisher among the eight rookies in the field.

While this was Barrichello's first Indianapolis 500, he is not unfamiliar with the facility. He competed in all eight United States Grands Prix held at IMS, winning in 2002 and finishing second to Ferarri teammate Michael Schumacher three other times.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page