WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Delta Gamma Wins 25th Running Of Women's Little 500

Last updated on Saturday, April 21, 2012

(BLOOMINGTON) - Ninety-nine laps had been completed.

Jordan Littman, of IDS, reorts and there was no clear leader, as a pack of six teams fought for the lead, including two-time defending champion Teter. That is when Kathleen Chelminiak of Kappa Alpha Theta, the Miss-N-Out and ITT champion, and Kayce Doogs, Delta Gamma's anchor rider, broke away from the field.

And the two would duke it out to the finish. Doogs passed Chelminak in the fourth turn at Bill Armstrong Stadium on Lap 100, sealing Delta Gamma's second-ever Little 500 championship in the 25th running of the event.

Teter finished in third, followed by Wing It Cycling and Kappa Kappa Gamma in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Throughout the night, there was no consistent leader, as multiple lead changes occurred between the top teams competing.

Finally, Collins, who qualified in 18th place, moved all the way up to number seven in the final standings.

Unofficial standings

1. Delta Gamma

2. Kappa Alpha Theta

3. Teter

4. Wing It

5. Delta Sigma Pi

6. Kappa Kappa Gamma

7. Collins

8. Alpha Gamma Delta

9. Chi Omega

10. Alpha Chi Omega

11. Cru Cycling

12. Kappa Delta

13. Zeta Tau Alpha

14. RideOn

15. Melanzana

16. Army Women

17. Rainbow Cycling

18. Delta Zeta

19. Gamma Phi Beta

20. Last Chance

21. Alpha Xi Delta

22. Sigma Delta Tau

23. Willkie

24. Pi Beta Phi

25. Mezcla

26. Air Force Cycling

27. Anchors Away

28. Alpha Phi

29. Alpha Omicron Pi

30. Alphie

31. Delta Delta Delta

32. Theta Phi Alpha

33. Alpha Delta Pi

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page