WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

IndyCar Announces Three Person Protest Panel

Last updated on Thursday, August 18, 2011

(INDIANAPOLIS, IN) - IndyCar has announced the members of the three-person panel that will hear the protests regarding Sunday’s finish of the iZod IndyCar series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Jerry Gappens, Rollie Helmling and Jeff Stoops make up the panel that will hear protests from Newman Haas racing and Target-Ganassi Racing. Gappens is general manager of New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Helming is director of automotive business development for the state of Indiana and is former president and CEO of USAC. Stoops is chairman of the board for USAC.

Newman Haas and Target-Ganassi believe that their drivers - Oriol Servia and Scott Dixon, respectively - finished ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay, who was declared the race winner. Hunter-Reay was in the lead under caution when the race was restarted on lap 216 of the 225-lap event.

Moisture on the track caused three cars to spin on the restart, bringing out the yellow and, eventually, the checkered flag, stopping the race.

Servia and Dixon passed Hunter-Reay on the restart, but IndyCar President of Competition Brian Barnhart ruled that the restart was aborted and the standings were reverted back to what they were before the restart.

The protest hearing will take place on Tuesday in Indianapolis and is closed to the public and the media.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page