WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Kanaan Passes Castroneves Late To Pick Up First Win Of Season

Last updated on Monday, June 21, 2010

(NEWTON, IA) - Tony Kanaan passed Helio Castroneves with eleven laps remaining to pick up his first Izod IndyCar Series win of the season at Iowa Speedway.

Following the pass, Kanaan pulled away to a four-second victory over Castroneves with EJ Viso, Ryan Briscoe and Will Power rounding out the top five.

Power holds the points lead by eleven over Scott Dixon, who finished sixth.

Dario Franchitti, who entered the Iowa race with the points lead, finished 18th due to gearbox problems and dropped to third place in the championship standings.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page