WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Duke Holds Off Butler To Win Fourth National Title

Last updated on Tuesday, April 6, 2010

(INDIANAPOLIS, IN) - The Duke Blue Devils are National Champions after edging the Butler Bulldogs 61-59 in the title game of the NCAA men’s basketball tournament at Lucas Oil Stadium.

The Blue Devils claimed their fourth NCAA Title when Gordon Hayward's half court shot bounced off the backboard and the rim as time expired.

Duke's big three of Kyle Singler, Jon Scheyer and Nolan Smith accounted for 47 of the Blue Devils' 61 points.

Singler led the way with 19 points with Scheyer scoring 15 and Smith finishing with 13. Singler was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four.

Hayward and Shelvin Mack led the Bulldogs with twelve points apiece with Matt Howard adding eleven points and senior Avery Jukes contributing ten points off the bench.

All of the ingredients were there for Butler to pull off one of the great upsets in NCAA finals history.

As in previous wins over Syracuse, Kansas State and Michigan State, the Bulldogs did not shoot particularly well, but their defense kept the game close.

Duke's largest lead of the game was just six points, and that came with about five minutes remaining in the first half.

The Blue Devils led by five with just over three minutes remaining, but a pair of Howard layups cut the lead to one in the final minute.

Hayward's high-arcing floater with five seconds left rimmed out.

Brian Zoubek hit one of two free throws after Butler fouled, setting up Hayward's desperation heave at the horn.

The Bulldogs shot just 35-percent from the field as compared to Duke's 44-percent shooting. Duke finishes the season at 35-5 as they claim their fourth national championship.

Butler had its 25-game winning streak snapped as the Bulldogs finish at 33-5. Blue Devils Head Coach Mike Krzyzewski joined some exclusive company with the Duke win.

Krzyzewski moved into a second-place tie with former Kentucky Coach Adolph Rupp with his fourth championship win.

UCLA's John Wooden won ten titles with the Bruins.

Krzyzewski had been tied with his mentor, former Indiana Coach Bob Knight, with three NCAA Championship wins.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page