News Sections
Hamiln Wins Race, Johnson Takes 4th Straight Cup Title
Updated May 4, 2013 11:59 PM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(HOMESTEAD, FL) - Denny Hamlin won his fourth race of the season while Jimmie Johnson won his unprecedented fourth-straight Sprint Cup Championship at the NASCAR season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Hamlin led 71 of the 195 laps with Jeff Burton finishing second followed by Kevin Harvick and Kurt Busch.

Johnson finished fifth to easily clinch the championship and break a tie with Cale Yarborough for the most consecutive titles won in NASCAR's top series.

Johnson's Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jeff Gordon finished sixth and came in third in points behind Mark Martin, who finished twelfth on Sunday in another Hendrick car to take runner-up honors in the championship standings.

For Hendrick, it is his NASCAR-record twelfth Sprint Cup Championship as an owner.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File