WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Power Dominates Rexall Edmonton Indy

Last updated on Monday, July 27, 2009

(EDMONTON, AB) - Will Power won his first IndyCar Series race, dominating Sunday’s Rexall Edmonton Indy.

Power led 90 of the 95 laps in cruising to his first win since last year's champ car world series finale at long beach.

Penske teammate Helio Castroneves was second, more than one second behind power.

Scott Dixon was third with Ryan Briscoe and Dario Franchitti rounding out the top five.

Dixon maintains a three-point lead over his Ganassi Racing teammate Franchitti in the race for the drivers' championship.

Tony Kanaan suffered injuries to his hands and face when his car caught fire during his first pit stop.

Kanaan waved to the crowd as he left the pit area for medical treatment.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page