WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Johnson Cruises To Win At Dover

Last updated on Monday, June 1, 2009

(DOVER, DE)- Jimmie Johnson won the battle, but Tony Stewart is winning the war.

Johnson notched his 42nd career NASCAR Sprint Cup win Sunday, using a late race pass of Columbus's Tony Stewart to get his 2nd win of the year.

Stewart finished 2nd, ahead of Greg Biffle and Matt Kenseth.

Kurt Busch completed the top five.

Stewart's runner-up finish, combined with the 26th place finish of Jeff Gordon, vaulted him to the top of the NASCAR Sprint Cup point standings.

He's the first driver/owner to lead the points since Alan Kulwicki won the championship in 1992.

Stewart, in his first year as owner of Stewart-Haas Racing, also benefited from a strong outing by his fellow Hoosier teammate.

South Bend's Ryan Newman finished 8th.

Dale Earnhardt Jr., in his first event since the firing of his cousin and crew chief Tony Eury, Jr. finished 12th, while former IndyCar champion Sam Hornish, Jr. was 13th.

Indianapolis native John Andretti was 34th, and Tony Raines finished 42nd.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page