WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Dixon Wins IndyCar Series

Last updated on Monday, June 29, 2009

(RICHMOND, VA) - Scott Dixon won Saturday night’s IndyCar Series race at Richmond International Raceway, but the 2008 series champion was apologetic afterwards.

Dixon described the race as "a bit of a procession" as there was little passing.

Saturday's race was a sharp contrast to last year's event at RIR in which there were incidents involving 14 cars and 102 laps of caution.

There were just four caution periods, all single car incidents involving wall contact, for 46 laps on Saturday Night.

One thing that was similar to the 2008 race was that there were only three lead changes among three drivers.

Negotiations between the Indy Racing League and International Speedway Corporation are scheduled for this week as they determine whether the series will return to Richmond in 2010.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page