WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Dixon Gets First IndyCar Win At Kansas

Last updated on Monday, April 27, 2009

(KANSAS CITY, KS) - Scott Dixon picked up his first win of the IndyCar Series season, winning Sunday’s Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 at Kansas Speedway.

Dixon led a race-high 138 laps and got a break when race-leader Ryan Briscoe tried to pit with 48 laps remaining.

While Briscoe was entering pit road, Dario Franchitti crashed in turn three. Briscoe was unable to pit then and had to return to the track and pit with the rest of the leaders.

He left the pits in fourth place and did not challenge again for the lead. Helio Castroneves finished second followed by Tony Kanaan, Briscoe and Danica Patrick.

Kanaan heads to Indianapolis with the IndyCar Series points lead. Briscoe is one point behind in second place with Franchitti third, four points behind Kanaan.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page