WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Purdue Wins Big Ten Tournament Championship

Last updated on Monday, March 16, 2009

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The Purdue Boilermakers are Big Ten Champions after defeating the Ohio State Buckeyes 65-61 in the title game of the Big Ten Tournament at Conseco Fieldhouse.

E'twaun Moore led the Boilers with 17 points with JaJuan Johnson adding 16 points and Robbie Hummel finishing with nine points and a game-high eleven rebounds.

Evan Turner led the Buckeyes with 22 points and ten boards with Jon Diebler and William Buford adding 15 points apiece.

It is Purdue's first championship in the twelve-year history of the big ten men's tournament.

Ohio State falls to 22-and-10 while Purdue improves to 25-and-9.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page