WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Briscoe Wins Race At Surfers Paradise

Last updated on Monday, October 27, 2008

(SURFERS PARADISE, AUSTRALIA) - Ryan Briscoe picked up his third IndyCar Series win with a victory Sunday in his native Australia.

Briscoe held off series champion Scott Dixon by about a half a second to become the first Australian driver to win on the streets of Surfers Paradise. Ryan Hunter-Reay was third with Alex Tagliani and Oriol Servia rounding out the top five.

Three drivers were making their debuts with their new teams for the 2009 season. Dan Wheldon had the best finish of the three, coming in eleventh in the number-four Panther Racing entry. Vitor Meira finished 14th for AJ Foyt Racing while Dario Franchitti was 16th for Target-Chip Ganassi Racing.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page