WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Wilson Takes Victory At Belle Isle

Last updated on Monday, September 1, 2008

(DETROIT, MI) - Justin Wilson won his first IndyCar Series race, taking Sunday’s Detroit Indy Grand Prix at the Raceway at Belle Isle.

Wilson won by more than four seconds over Helio Castroneves with Tony Kanaan, Oriol Servia and Scott Dixon rounding out the top five.

Castroneves was in the lead when he was penalized on lap 73 for blocking Wilson. The two-time Indianapolis 500 champion was forced by race control to surrender the lead to Wilson.

Castroneves cut into Dixon's points lead, trailing by 30 points heading to next Sunday's finale at Chicagoland Speedway.

If Dixon finishes eighth or better at Chicagoland, he will clinch his second IndyCar Series championship.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page