WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Castroneves Wins Finale, Dixon Wins Championship At Chicagoland

Last updated on Monday, September 8, 2008

(JOLIET, IL) - Helio Castroneves won the race and Scott Dixon took the championship at the IndyCar Series finale at Chicagoland Speedway.

The timing and scoring computer had Dixon as the winner of the race originally, edging Castroneves by one one-thousandth of a second, but video replays showed Castroneves actually beat Dixon to the line.

Ryan Briscoe, Tony Kanaan and Will Power rounded out the top five with power claiming IndyCar Series rookie of the year honors.

Dixon claimed his second series championship by 17 points over Castroneves.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page