WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Hunter-Reay Claims First IndyCar Series Win

Last updated on Monday, July 7, 2008

(WATKINS GLEN, NY) - Ryan Hunter-Reay picked up his first IndyCar Series win with a victory at Watkins Glen.

Hunter-Reay got past Darren Manning on a late restart and held on for his first win since he won at Milwaukee on the Champ Car World Series circuit in 2004. The victory was the first for Rahal-Letterman Racing since Buddy Rice won at Michigan in 2004.

Manning's second-place finish was his best IndyCar Series competition. Tony Kanaan was third with Buddy Rice and Marco Andretti rounding out the top five.

Scott dixon, who was going for his fourth-straight win at Watkins Glen, spun during a late caution period and wound up eleventh.

Dixon still managed to increase his points lead as he now holds a 48-point advantage over Helio Castroneves.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page