News Sections
Hunter-Reay Claims First IndyCar Series Win
Updated May 4, 2013 11:57 PM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(WATKINS GLEN, NY) - Ryan Hunter-Reay picked up his first IndyCar Series win with a victory at Watkins Glen.

Hunter-Reay got past Darren Manning on a late restart and held on for his first win since he won at Milwaukee on the Champ Car World Series circuit in 2004. The victory was the first for Rahal-Letterman Racing since Buddy Rice won at Michigan in 2004.

Manning's second-place finish was his best IndyCar Series competition. Tony Kanaan was third with Buddy Rice and Marco Andretti rounding out the top five.

Scott dixon, who was going for his fourth-straight win at Watkins Glen, spun during a late caution period and wound up eleventh.

Dixon still managed to increase his points lead as he now holds a 48-point advantage over Helio Castroneves.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File