WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

$2.99 Million Awarded To Indy Winner

Last updated on Tuesday, May 27, 2008

(INDIANAPOLIS, IN) - Indianapolis 500 winner Scott Dixon earned just under $3-million dollars for his win in Sunday’s race.

Dixon's share of the record purse was $2,998,000. The previous record was held by 2004 winner Buddy Rice, who took home more than $1.7-million dollars for that victory. The total purse of $14.4-million dollars was also a record.

Dixon is in New York today to begin the annual media tour for the 500 winner.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was named the Chase Rookie of the Year at last night's Indianapolis 500 victory banquet. Hunter-Reay finished in sixth place, one spot ahead of Hideki Mutoh who was the fastest rookie qualifier. Hunter-reay started 20th but put his number-17 team Ethanol Dallara into the top ten at the 200-mile mark and stayed there for the rest of the day.

Hunter-Reay and His Rahal-Letterman team gets a $25,000 dollar bonus for winning rookie of the year. Second place finisher Vitor Meira was awarded the Scott Brayton Driver's Trophy.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page