WBIW.com News - sports

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Daytona 500 Won By Hoosier

Last updated on Monday, February 18, 2008

(DAYTONA BEACH, FL) - South Bend native Ryan Newman got some help from teammate Kurt Busch and won the 50th running of the Daytona 500.

Tony Stewart led at the white flag with the two Penske cars on his tail when the Columbus, Indiana native dropped down on the track to block his Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch.

Newman and Kurt Busch remained on the high side and passed Stewart with Newman snapping an 81-race winless streak.

Stewart finished third followed by Kyle Busch. Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished ninth in his Sprint Cup debut with Hendrick Motorsports.

Earnhardt's finish was the best among the Hendrick drivers with two-time defending cup champion Jimmie Johnson finishing 27th and four-time cup champion Jeff Gordon finishing 39th.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page