News Sections
Daytona 500 Won By Hoosier
Updated May 4, 2013 11:56 PM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(DAYTONA BEACH, FL) - South Bend native Ryan Newman got some help from teammate Kurt Busch and won the 50th running of the Daytona 500.

Tony Stewart led at the white flag with the two Penske cars on his tail when the Columbus, Indiana native dropped down on the track to block his Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch.

Newman and Kurt Busch remained on the high side and passed Stewart with Newman snapping an 81-race winless streak.

Stewart finished third followed by Kyle Busch. Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished ninth in his Sprint Cup debut with Hendrick Motorsports.

Earnhardt's finish was the best among the Hendrick drivers with two-time defending cup champion Jimmie Johnson finishing 27th and four-time cup champion Jeff Gordon finishing 39th.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File