News Sections
IndyCar Drivers To Rake In The Dough Next Season
Updated May 4, 2013 11:56 PM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS, IN) - The winner of next May's Indianapolis 500 will be taking home a larger check.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway President Joie Chitwood announced this morning that the purse for the 92nd Indianapolis 500 will be at least 13.4 million dollars, an increase of 25-percent over 2007's record purse of 10.6-seven million dollars.

Next May's winner will receive at least 2.5 million dollars, a 42-percent increase over the record 1.7-six million earned by 2004 winner Buddy Rice.

The speedway made the announcement in conjunction with the IndyCar series' restructuring of its earnings distribution.

The new formula, called the Team Enhancement and Allocation Matrix or "TEAM" for short, will award a minimum of 1.2 million dollars to each car entered to compete in the entire IndyCar season.

The top five finishers in each race will earn bonuses on top of that 1.2 million with the winner earning an additional 35-thousand dollars ranging down to ten-thousand dollars to the fifth-place finisher.

Bonuses will also be awarded at the end of the season for the top five finishers in points with the champion earning a one-million-dollar bonus as in previous seasons. Contingency awards will also be awarded as in previous seasons.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File