News Sections
Judicial Officers Recognized at Annual Educational Conference
Updated October 10, 2018 9:16 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Many judges, magistrates, and commissioners were recognized by Chief Justice Loretta Rush for their commitment to higher education and their long-time service.

Fourteen judicial officers received an Indiana Judicial College certificate, twenty-nine received an Indiana Graduate Program for Judge's certificate, and eleven were honored for Years of Service on the bench. The honors were presented at an annual judicial conference.

Indiana Judicial College:
A judicial officer must complete 120 hours of education presented by the Indiana Office of Court Services to receive this certificate. The program enhances legal knowledge and improves personal and professional development.

  • Judge David C. Cates (Kosciusko)
  • Judge Timothy B. Day (Decatur)
  • Magistrate Mary A. DeBoer (Porter)
  • Judge Benjamin A. Diener (Carroll)
  • Magistrate Matthew B. Gruett (Lake)
  • Magistrate Thomas P. Hallett (Lake)
  • Judge Larry W. Medlock (Washington)
  • Magistrate Daniel G. Pappas (Allen)
  • Judge John M. Plummer III (Lawrence)
  • Magistrate Jason G. Reyome (Marion)
  • Judge Angela Warner Sims (Madison)
  • Magistrate Tammy S. Somers (Hendricks)
  • Judge James D. Worton (Bartholomew)
  • Judge Laura W. Zeman (Tippecanoe)

Indiana Graduate Program for Judges:
The Graduate Program is for judges who desire an in-depth and intensive learning experience. The Program requires one week of coursework and additional assignments for two consecutive summers.

  • Judge Andrew Adams (Clark)
  • Judge R. Kent Apsley (Shelby)
  • Judge Heather L. Barajas (Montgomery)
  • Judge Michael S. Bergerson (LaPorte)
  • Magistrate Sally E. Berish (Boone)
  • Judge Lisa M. Bowen-Slaven (LaGrange)
  • Judge Teresa L. Cataldo (Elkhart)
  • Judge David C. Cates (Kosciusko)
  • Judge Joseph L. Claypool (Harrison)
  • Magistrate Mary A. DeBoer (Porter)
  • Magistrate Jennifer Lynne DeGroote (Allen)
  • Judge Mark K. Dudley (Madison)
  • Judge Peter R. Foley (Morgan)
  • Judge Clayton A. Graham (Marion)
  • Judge Bradley B. Jacobs (Clark)
  • Magistrate Beth Jansen (Marion)
  • Magistrate Samuel R. Keirns (Allen)
  • Judge Dana J. Kenworthy (Grant)
  • Magistrate John D. Kitch III (Allen)
  • Judge Jeryl F. Leach (Newton)
  • Judge Gretchen S. Lund (Elkhart)
  • Judge Bruce D. Parent (Lake)
  • Judge Brant J. Parry (Howard)
  • Judge Lakshmi Reddy (Vigo)
  • Magistrate Mark F. Renner (Marion)
  • Judge David N. Riggins (Shelby)
  • Judge Leslie C. Shively (Vanderburgh)
  • Magistrate Tammy S. Somers (Hendricks)
  • Judge Timothy P. Spahr (Miami)

Years of Service:
This award is typically presented to judicial officers with 24 years of service on the bench. Trial judges are commonly elected to a six-year term; therefore, a judge receiving this certificate has likely been elected more than four times. The following judicial officers were honored for 24 or more years of service.

  • Judge Robert O. Bowen, 29 years (Marshall)
  • Magistrate Larry E. Bradley, 29 years (Marion)
  • Judge Elaine B. Brown, 25 years (Indiana Court of Appeals)
  • Judge Frances C. Gull, 24 years (Allen)
  • Judge Michael D. Keele, 29 years (Marion)
  • Senior Judge Kenneth Lopp, 24 years (formerly Crawford)
  • Judge William J. Nelson, 24 years (Marion)
  • Judge Clark H. Rogers, 26 years (Marion)
  • Judge John M. Sedia, 24 years (Lake)
  • Commissioner P. Thomas Snow, 26 years (Wayne)
  • Judge Judith A. Stewart, 24 years (Brown)

The Indiana Office of Court Services is part of the Office of Judicial Administration. It serves as the state's judicial research and continuing judicial education agency. It develops and sponsors educational programming for judges, probation officers, and other court personnel. The Office works to enhance the performance of the judicial system by continuously improving the professional competence of judicial officers.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File