News Sections
Commission Seeks Nominations For Martin Luther King Jr. Legacy Award
Updated November 1, 2017 7:19 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BLOOMINGTON) - The City of Bloomington's Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Celebration Commission is soliciting nominees for the annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Legacy Award.

The award recognizes and affirms those who have made significant contributions in the areas of race relations, justice, and human rights, and is presented annually at the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Celebration in January.

Nominees must be involved in making tangible and meaningful contributions to the improvement of community conditions and the advancement of race relations, racial justice, or human rights causes. To qualify, a nominee must have been a Monroe County resident, business, or advocacy group for a minimum of one year.

Past winners of the Legacy Award include Bloomington United, the Monroe County Branch of the NAACP, Guy and Connie Loftman, Rev. E. D. Butler, Rev. Michael Anderson, Monroe County Racial Justice Task Force, Banneker History Project, Dr. James E. Mumford, Dr. Charlie Nelms, Kenneth W. Thomas, WFHB Community Radio, Elizabeth Mitchell, Daniel Soto Mayorga, John Whikehart, Indiana University Office of Diversity Education, Marlene and Donald Griffin Sr., Craig Brenner, Rev. Dennis Laffoon, and Donald Griffin Jr.

Nominations can be made online at The deadline for nominations is January 3, 2018. For more information, contact Special Projects Coordinator Michael Shermis at or (812) 349-3471.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File