News Sections
B'Town Jazzfest This Saturday
Updated August 15, 2017 6:44 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BLOOMINGTON) - The B'Town Jazzfest is this Saturday, August 19 at the Monroe Convention Center​.

The event from Noon until 11 p.m.

John Porter, president of the B'Town Jazz board of directors says the event brings together jazz professionals from Bloomington and the surrounding area for a free day of music.

This year, headliners include the Al Cobine Big Band; new Indiana University jazz faculty members and recording artists Tierney Sutton (vocalist) and John Raymond (trumpet/composer); Nashville-area jazz clarinetist/soprano saxist Frank Glover; and the Jefferson Street Parade Band.

Those attending will enjoy different styles of jazz from traditional jazz, New Orleans jazz, modern big band, swing and more.

Free parking is available south of the building.


  • Noon-12:45 p.m.: Janiece Jaffe (jazz vocals) with Dave Gulyas (guitar), Dave Bruker (bass) and daVida (trio) plus Dennis Riggins (sax).

  • 12:47-12:57 p.m.: Jazz Futures student group (on the new Jazz Futures stage, adjacent to main stage).

  • 1-1:45 p.m.: The B-town Bearcats. Mike Lucas (piano) leads traditional jazz sextet.

  • 1:47-1:57 p.m.: Jazz Futures student group.

  • 2-2:45 p.m.: The Rachel Caswell Quartet. Caswell (jazz vocals), Jamaal Baptiste (piano).

  • 2:47-2:57 p.m.: Jazz Futures student group.

  • 3-3:45 p.m.: Monika Herzig's The Time Flies. Herzig (keyboard) leads her jazz/rock quartet with Peter Kienle (guitar) and guest Walter Smith III (sax).

  • 3:47-3:57 p.m.: Jazz Futures student group.

  • 4-4:50 p.m.: The Postmodern Jazz Quartet. Jeff Isaac (piano) leads, with Pat Harbison (trumpet) and Jonathan Elmer (trombone).

  • 5-5:50 p.m.: The Al Cobine Big Band, with Mike Lucas (piano, directing)

  • 6-6:50 p.m.: The Jamey Aebersold All-Star Quartet. N.E.A. Jazz Master saxist/educator leads his All-Star Quartet playing bebop to hard/bop, with Gabe Evens (piano).

  • 7-7:50 p.m.: The Jazz Fables Quintet plus NYC saxist Michael Eaton.

  • 8-8:50 p.m.: The Frank Glover Quartet. Indiana's legendary jazz clarinetist /soprano sax master Glover plays original contemporary jazz with his IU young lions rhythm section: Evan Main, Phillip Wailes and Chris Parker.

  • 9-10:05 p.m.: The IU Jazz Faculty (3 groups), all with rhythm section of Luke Gillespie (piano), Jeremy Allen (bass) and Steve Houghton (drums).

  • • Group A -- Tom Walsh (saxes), Pat Harbison (trumpet), Wayne Wallace (trombone)

  • • Group B -- Tierney Sutton (jazz vocalist/recording artist)

  • • Group C -- John Raymond (trumpet) and Walter Smith III (saxes),

  • 10:15-11 p.m.: The Jefferson Street Parade Band (plays parade band jazz/world music party set on stage).

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File