News Sections
Two Area Teachers In Running For National Presidential Awards
Updated July 12, 2017 6:56 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BLOOMINGTON) - The Indiana Department of Education announced that two area teachers are in the running for the national Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Kirstin Milks, who teaches science at Bloomington High School South, and Diane Rodriguez, a math teacher at Bloomfield Junior/Senior High School, are being considered for the award.

Eight Indiana teachers have been named finalists; four in science, four in math.

"Proficiency in mathematics and science is vital to a well-rounded education," said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. "Today we recognize the educators who dedicate themselves to excellence in these subjects and I am extremely proud of our Indiana finalists. They represent our state well."

The Presidential Awards are the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Since 1983, more than 4,700 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and their profession. Award recipients serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

In addition, recipients receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a trip to Washington D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

Indiana finalists underwent a rigorous application process and were selected by a state committee for their outstanding qualifications. All eight finalists will participate in an honor and recognition luncheon this fall. Below is a complete list of the 2016-17 finalists:

Indiana Finalists for Math:

  • Sean Bird - Covenant Christian High School, Indianapolis
  • David Ferris - Noblesville High School
  • Diane Rodriguez - Bloomfield Jr./Sr. High School
  • Richard Ziuchkovski - Anderson High School

Indiana Finalists for Science:

  • John Gensic - Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation
  • Kirstin Milks - Bloomington High School South
  • Stacie Stoffregen - Greencastle Middle School
  • Robyn Witty - Roncalli High School

For more information about the Presidential Awards, please visit: (link is external). To view a list of past awardees, please visit: (link is external).

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File