News Sections
Washington County Prosecutor Dustin Houchin Chairs IPAC
Updated June 19, 2017 8:13 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS
dustin Houchin.jpg

(BLOOMINGTON) - Washington County Prosecutor Dustin Houchin has been elected to a second term as chairman of the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council Board of Directors. He was elected to the post during the IPAC/Indiana Attorney General 2017 Summer Conference in Bloomington.

Prosecutor Houchin was previously elected IPAC chairman in 2014.

Vice chairman of the board is now Kenneth Cotter, St. Joseph County Prosecutor and secretary/treasurer is Lisa Swaim, Cass County Prosecutor. Daviess County Prosecutor Daniel Murrie is the outgoing IPAC Board Chairman.

The 3-day summer conference for county prosecutors and their deputies featured training on prosecuting strangulation, training on cases involving abusive head trauma, as well as sessions on ethics, criminal appeals, identity theft, domestic violence, felony diversions and Recovery Works, among others. Approximately 130 elected and appointed prosecutors, deputy prosecutors, and deputy attorney generals attended.

"It is an honor to be elected again as Chair of IPAC," said Chairman Houchin. "I hope to continue the great work the organization has done on behalf of prosecutors and the public."

Elected for a one-term to the board of directors was Delaware County Prosecutor Jeffrey L. Arnold, St. Joseph County Prosecutor Kenneth Cotter, Monroe County Prosecutor Christopher Gaal, Wabash County Prosecutor William Hartley, Jr. and Dubois County Prosecutor Anthony Quinn.

Prosecutors elected to a two-year term on the board of directors were Bruce Aukerman (Vermillion County), Terry Curry (Marion County), Dustin Houchin (Washington County), Daniel Murrie (Daviess County) and Lisa Swaim (Cass County).

Boone County Prosecutor Todd Meyer will serve as the board's at-large member to the Prosecuting Attorneys Council executive committee.

About the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council:

The IPAC is a non-partisan, independent state judicial branch that supports Indiana's 91 prosecuting attorneys and their chief deputies. It is governed by a 10-member board of directors of elected prosecuting attorneys. The IPAC assists prosecuting attorneys in the preparation of manuals, legal research and training seminars. It serves as a liaison to local, state, and federal agencies, study commissions, and community groups in an effort to support law enforcement and promote the fair administration of justice.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File