News Sections
Hometown Collaboration Initiative Generation 5 Communities Announced
Updated May 5, 2017 7:45 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs (OCRA) announces the Towns of Albion and Cumberland, Cities of Angola and Washington, and Brown County have been selected as Generation 5 communities for the Hometown Collaboration Initiative (HCI).

The HCI program is delivered by OCRA in a unique partnership with Ball State University's Indiana Communities Institute (ICI) and Purdue University's Center for Regional Development (PCRD). Together, these entities champion the core principles of HCI, working to gain broad-based input and buy-in that is vital to the long-term success and sustainability of all community development initiatives.

The HCI program is open to self-identified communities of 25,000 or fewer people.

The five communities were recently named HCI Semi-Finalists and hosted members of the state team for local site visits during the month of April.

To further elaborate on the local opportunities for the HCI program, each semi-finalist team held a 90-minute sessions, highlighting how it could contribute to the long-term success of local community and economic development initiatives.

After completing the foundation phase of the program - one in which they undertake an in-depth analysis of their hometowns -- the teams will choose one of three HCI building block options:

  • Economy - Build a supportive community environment for small businesses and entrepreneurs.
  • Leadership - Develop a new generation of local leaders who will take an active part in addressing community priorities.
  • Placemaking - Invest in public space development, local foods, or other quality of life initiatives.
  • These communities join previous HCI participants who are at varying stages of executing their local projects.

Generation 5

  • Albion
  • Angola
  • Cumberland
  • Washington
  • Brown County

Generation 4

  • Bremen
  • Crawford County

Generation 3

  • Decatur
  • Logansport

Generation 2

  • Auburn
  • Orange County
  • Spencer County
  • Vermillion County

Generation 1

  • Corydon
  • Lebanon
  • Seymour
  • Perry County
  • Pulaski County
  • Rush County

For information on the Hometown Collaboration Initiative, visit the HCI website or contact your OCRA Community Liaison.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File