News Sections
19 ISTA Foundation Scholarships Awarded To Teachers
Updated May 9, 2017 6:45 AM | Filed under: Education
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The ISTA Foundation for the Improvement of Education awarded scholarships to 19 teachers pursuing National Board Certification included in the list are some local residents.

ISTA and the ISTA Foundation are committed to increasing the attainment of this important credential to strengthen teaching practices and improve student learning.

"The ISTA Foundation seeks to enable Hoosier teachers to pursue National Board Certification," said ISTA Foundation President Keith Gambill. "It's the gold standard of teacher certifications, and ISTA has set a goal to increase the number of teachers in Indiana with this certification."

National Board Certification is gaining recognition in Indiana. Twenty-five ISTA-affiliated local associations have added National Board Certification toward salary advancements in their contracts, while 32 have bargained stipends for certification.

The scholarship awardees are:

  • Mikayla Barnes, Monroe County Education Association
  • Margaret Shields, Monroe County Education Association
  • Jennifer Barnes, New Albany-Floyd County Education Association
  • Martha Chamberlain, Monroe County Education Association
  • John Brown, Monroe County Education Association
  • Nancy Leef, Fort Wayne Education Association
  • Lindsey Porter, Washington Township Education Association
  • Gina Boyd, Spencer-Owen Education Association
  • Jessica Carlson, Garrett-Keyser-Butler Education Association
  • Dominic Thompson, Spencer-Owen Education Association
  • Jennifer Gohmann, New Albany-Floyd County Education Association
  • Chris Judson, Concord Teachers Association
  • Amy Crosser, New Albany-Floyd County Education Association
  • Jane Elgin, Evansville Teachers Association
  • Amy Hardesty-Asher, Union Township Teachers Association
  • Catherine Taylor, Union Township Teachers Association
  • Alvin Enlow, West Lafayette Education Association
  • Michelle Pittman, NEA South Bend
  • Samantha Patterson, Clay Community Classroom Teachers Association

About The ISTA Foundation for the Improvement of Education is a nonprofit, established Nov. 25, 1985, to contribute to the continuing education and training of public school educators. The ISTA Foundation offers scholarships to current educators, dependents of members and those pursuing a career in education with the goal to support current and future public educators.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File