WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Maitlyn Alvey Named LCCF 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar

Last updated on Tuesday, December 13, 2016

(BEDFORD) - Maitlyn Alvey, daughter of Curt and Melissa Alvey, has been named the Lawrence County Community Foundation’s 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Alvey will receive a full-tuition scholarship to a four-year Indiana public or private college or university, along with an annual $900 stipend for required books.

Alvey, a Bedford North Lawrence High School senior, plans to pursue post-secondary studies next fall in Nursing at Indiana University.

Twenty-five students applied for the scholarship. The selection committee, made up of volunteer community residents, narrowed the field to the final seven.

In addition to Alvey, the finalists included Jackson Bartlett, Kaylee Ecker and Brandon Wehmiller from Bedford North Lawrence High School, and Kortni Doan, Tyler Kirk and Kara Parkes from Mitchell High School.

The seven finalists completed an impromptu essay and were interviewed by the selection committee. One nominee and two alternates were submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for final selection of the recipient. ICI is a non-profit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, non-profit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide. The Lawrence County Community Foundation is pleased to have been given the opportunity to work with the Lilly Endowment and Independent Colleges of Indiana in selecting thirty-six Lawrence County Lilly scholars in the last 20 years.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page